Pinecone

I went to Gaji Mountain today. It’s in the Yeongnam Alps, a group of mountains in Ulsan, Korea.

It was nice to go to the mountains. I had gotten angry about something last week. It wasn’t serious. But anger is the dirtiest feeling. The clear mountain air and pine forests would make me feel clean again.

Gaji Mountain is the highest in the Yeongnam Alps, and I left too late. There wasn’t enough daylight to go all the way to the top. I made it halfway up.

Midway, there was a clearing in the trees and a view of the valley below.

It’s December. The sun was low in the sky. It shone on one of the mountains on the other side of the valley. Bright green ridges in sunlight. Dark green valleys in shadow. All along the side of the mountain, one after the other.

Green folds of mountain.

There was birds singing, too. It reminded me of something long ago and far away.

I didn’t bring my camera, so I couldn’t take any pictures. I brought this pine cone back instead.

There were pine cones in various states of decay. Trampled-over pine cones. Torn-in-half pine cones. Almost rotten pine cones. This one was new and nearly whole.

Perhaps it is saying–what will you do in this short life?

How will you spend the finite moments of your time on earth?

Leave a Reply

